Retrospective items: 2 of 3

Back last year, I was asked to perform some of my poems at a local fundraising concert in aid of Parkinson’s UK.  The friend who asked me is a fine gent who himself suffers from the disease, so I was keen to agree.

Consequently, come 4th November, I found myself sharing the bill with a number of excellent musicians and a talented fellow poet.  The evening was well attended, and raised a good amount of money for the charity.

I am unable to share any of the music from the concert, but I can give you a taste of the evening in the form of one of the poems I read.  It is a bit of nonsense which will make most sense to people who have an understanding of the Welsh language.  Enjoy!

A bit o’ ffun 
Come back with me to my cwm bach, 
Come, bach, with me to my cwm. 
Cwtch away here in my cwm, bach. 
Come cwtch with me in my cwm.

Now, in true language-lesson style (from my faded memory of school in the 1980s), here is a list of vocab:

Cwm: Valley
Bach: Small (also a term of affection)
Cwtch (away): Hide (away)
Cwtch: Hug, cuddle (but with much greater depth of meaning)
Ffun: made up word (I just decided to move the letter ‘f’ from ‘of’ and add it to the front of the word ‘fun’ in order to make pseudo-Welsh word.  Apologies to all Welsh speakers out there!)

 

Leave a Reply

